Blog · Movie

Movie Friday: White House Down; The Heat


Tumblr Popcorn GIf

Two new movies debut this weekend. A Tatum/Foxx action flick and a Bullock/McCarthy comedy movie will go against a Pixar prequel.

White House Down

Channing Tatum has exploded as a movie star the past couple of years. In reality, he has been working since the early 2000’s. “It’s a hard thing for me to wrap my mind around the C word: celebrity. Rock stars are celebrities, because they’re larger than life.” Tatum said regarding fame. Since last summers successful stripper movie, “Magic Mike.” Tatum has been in high demand. So much so, that he was asked back to film additional scenes for, “G.I Joe: Retaliation.”

White House Down

Fans hoping for more Tatum can take comfort in knowing that he currently has a full slate of project coming out in the next couple of years. Aside from “22 Jump Street”, a sequel to 2012’s “21 Jump street.” is “Jupiter Ascending, which he is currently filming.

Jaime Foxx would be the third president in an Emmerich film. Pullman, Glover now Foxx.  When Emmerich  was asked during a press junket who he would like to play president in the future he quickly responded, “Meryl Streep.” The role of POTUS was something that Foxx took lightly.

White House Down Jaime Foxx
White House Down Jaime Foxx

” Research wise I talked to one of President Obama’s speech writers.But I done a lot of things to look “Presidential”, I lost weight, I watched lots of video of President Obama, President Clinton, President Bush…. I watched these guys to see how they moved and spoke and interacted with people. After that I just let Roland do his magic.” Foxx said about his role. Although many have noticed similarities between Foxx and our current president, Foxx claims that he is not directly intimidated the Commander In Chief. “We are not mirroring President Obama.” Foxx said to EW.

White House Down follows the same trajectory that Emmerich has followed since his first hit “Independence Day.” A sort of comfort zone for the director, as made obvious with his earlier hits “2012” and the “Day After Tomorrow”. The film was shot in Montreal in 2012. After completing WHD, Tatum starting filming the drama “Foxcather”.

“White House Down” focuses on Sgt. John Cale, a Capitol police officer played by Tatum who is touring the White House with his daughter right after tanking an interview for a Secret Service job. When rogue former soldiers and government employees begin wreaking havoc on Pennsylvania Avenue, Cale must step up to rescue his daughter and the president.
Movie goers might have a sense of deja vu when it comes to “White House under siege” movies. The similar movie “Olympus Has Fallen” debuted earlier this year in March. When asked about the film, Emmerich responded, “”You do your film,” said Emmerich. “They do their film. I remember when there were two volcano and two meteor movies. I thought, `Isn’t Hollywood stupid to do that?’ All of a sudden, I was in the same situation, and I said, `I’m not stopping.’ I like my script. I have the two coolest dudes, I always wanted to work with together in one film. I’m not stopping.”. While the plot does have some similarities, Emmerich assures that its a whole new movie.

White House Down opens June 28th

The Heat
The Heat

Director Paul Feig thought that the movie landscape would be farther along that it currently is. “My fear was that after “Bridesmaids,” there was going to be an onslaught of all these movies starring women that weren’t good, so then it would be like, they all lose money.And then that didn’t even happen.” Feig is referring to studios reluctance to make movies with female leads.

The script for “The Heat” was written by “Parks and Recreation” scribe Katie Dippold, and while producers already had Bullock in mind to play the role of Ashburn, Feig thought of McCarthy would be the perfect Mullins while reading the script.

“For me it was always them or nothing.” Feig said.
McCarthy shuttled between two cities filming her show “Mike and Molly” during the week and “The Heat” during the weekend. While Feig was busy trying to put the movie together, McCarthy was in Atlanta shooting “Identity Thief” . “There was a moment where scheduling looked like it might not work out for either one of them and so the studio was like, “Well, who else?” Honestly, there’s plenty of women I love who I want to work with, but I was like, I don’t know.” Fieg said. Within hours of finishing “Identity Thief”, McCarthy was on her way to Boston to film “The Heat”. “I was blind tired, crazy, and I’d do it again in a minute.”

The film is a comedy about an FBI agent Sarah Asburn (Bullock) who teams up with Detective Shannon Mullins (McCarthy) to try to stop a Russian Mobster.

Fox has high hopes for the film that it changed the release date from April 5th to June 28th.

“I’ve always wanted to do a female buddy film, the kind the guys get to do,” Bullock said. “This didn’t have anything to do with getting a guy, and it didn’t involve shoe shopping…” revealed Bullock.

The Heat opens June 28th

Until Next Week

Kim and Chris humphries

Leave a Reply

