Events

September 11th

September 11, 2001 attacks in New York City: V...
September 11, 2001 attacks in New York City: View of the World Trade Center and the Statue of Liberty. (Image: US National Park Service ) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)


Today is September 11th. A day that America will always remember and never forget

12 years ago, terror struck, and lives were changed.

Reminiscing about the attacks, I looked back at the progress that America has made. I was asked “Do you feel safer now than you did 12 years ago?”

Honestly, I don’t think that I can answer that question.

My life was different 12 years ago. Still in school, I didn’t keep up with current events, unaware of terrorism.

When the attacks occurred, I was in my own world, worried about, what are now, meaningless things in my life.

On the morning of September 11th, we viewed the horrific images on TV, and that is when I grasped what had occurred.

Was it wise that the teacher allowed her students to watch the attacks unfold? At this point it doesn’t matter. What does matter was what was happening to America.

So back to the original question, “Do I feel safer now?” I feel confident and proud. Confident that, even when faced with adversity, we will pull through and proud at how resilient the American people could be.

It’s hard to imagine what it was like to actually be affected by this tragedy. I only watched from afar. To the lives lost, to the first responders and anyone else who helped in any way during the tragedy, to the families who lost loved ones, to the soldiers who have fought, are fighting or died fighting, I pray for you, I respect you, I admire you, and you nor your courageous acts will never be forgotten.

As people, we managed to move on with our lives. Work, School, family, stress, when other matters take precedent in our lives, we tend to push things to the back of our minds. But that doesn’t mean that we forget or are appreciative.

Times have changed since the attacks. America is facing different challenges, challenges that have tested out faith, our hope, our wallets and our prejudice.

But we still remember, we will never forget. We have pulled through, no matter what the future holds for America.

On this day, I ask that you appreciate the little things in your life, no matter what they are. Today you woke up. There are others who didn’t live to see the sunrise. Tell your family that you love them. Appreciate them. Never take a minute for granted.

Whatever problems you are facing in your life, be resilient and strong, like the American people.

 

*(a version of this post was published last year)

Leave a Reply

