American Horror Story · Blog

American Horror Story

American Horror Story is set to premiere in less than a week. This years incarnation is subtitled “Freak Show”

American Horror Story: Freak Show
American Horror Story: Freak Show

“Every season of the show will be a different haunting. That’s always been the plan. Every season of the show will have a beginning, middle and end, and all new characters and setting.” Ryan Murphy stated back in 2011, when season one was coming to a close.

Since its initial season, there has been a total of four incarnations of the AHS anthology.

The driving force behind American Horror Story has been Jessica Lange. She is one of only a handful of actors that have stayed with the series since its inception.

Jessica Lange has found success on AHS, opening her up to a whole new audience.

Jessica Lange American Horror Story

Constance Langdon, Sister Jude Martin, Fiona Goode, and Elsa Mars, Jessica has played a plethora of rich characters.

“For me, acting was always a way to explore emotions – to dip into the well and really try to reach rock bottom down there. That was the most exciting part of it. I hadn’t found anything that really allowed me to do that until I came upon acting.” stated the actress in an interview with  Interview Magazine. “One of the things I love about acting is that it reveals a certain something about yourself, but it doesn’t reveal your own personal story.”

Jessica Lange American Horror Story
Jessica Lange: AHS

“Sometimes parts just come along when it’s the perfect time for you to do them. TV is sort of the only way to go for an actress my age to make a decent salary; with independent films, you just can’t. To stay interested in acting, I have to keep trying stuff I’ve never done before.

Jessica Lange has said that the fourth season of AHS will be her last. “I’ve got nothing left to lose at this point. The work I’ve done is out there.”  But she has gone on to say that her return to AHS is a possibility. “When I am home for like a two-year stretch, I get antsy, because I want to work.”

Frances Conroy American Horror Story
Moira O’Hara, Shachath: The Angel of Death, Myrtle Snow and Gloria Mott.

“All I can say is Franny is another one of these actresses that I absolutely look forward to working with.” says Jessica Lange about her co star.

On the popularity of her characters on the internet and if she has seen the comments: “No, I can’t do that because that’s like going into a house of mirrors. I’m not interested in looking in a mirror. I’ve got to create this and I don’t go to the response of what I’m creating. I have to keep creating it. Whatever response comes out, that’s fine, that’s what the audience gets to have,”

Sarah Paulson American Horror Story

Billie Dean Howard, Lana Winters, Cordelia Foxx and Bette and Dot Tattler

“I’ve never been on a show ” that’s run for more than a season. Sometimes I think on television, you use maybe a tenth of what you are able to do. So it’s nice to go, ‘Well, I’m gonna take two months and reinvest in acting and storytelling.”
“I think it’s very important for people to not judge the people you’re playing. You have to find a way to love them because their story is theirs. I just don’t think there would be any use in that.
I love the idea of people walking away with the idea of hope and possibility. I’m interested in telling the character’s story, not my beliefs, political or otherwise.”

 

ezgif.com-crop (3)

Tate Langdon, Kit Walker, Kyle Spencer and Jimmy Darling,

Evan Peters caught the acting bug early on in life. “It all started in Michigan. My dad got a job in Michigan, so we all moved up there from St. Louis. I kind of hung out in the summer and had nothing to do, so I sort of got into acting. And then I was going to Grand Blanc High, doing the acting thing and hoping it would pan out.”

I’ve learned so much. Definitely confidence, too. In this show, we’re all searching to find the truth in this insane reality. It’s been challenging, for me, to try and play a completely different character but it hasn’t been too difficult working with other actors who are playing different characters

On his characters through out the series:

“There’s something that’s sexy about a guy who has the strength to kill somebody, but is also vulnerable enough to be in love. It’s just those two sides – like, I don’t know why, but women for some reason aren’t attracted to normal guys, like, guys who are in between….I guess creepy comes natural to me – I hate to say that. American Horror’ in particular is a really crazy show. We have crazy crap happening to us on that show…..”

 

The fourth season of American Horror Story: Freak Show premieres October 8th on FX.

ezgif.com-crop (6)

Leave a Reply

