Blog · Music

Beyonce releases new track “Bow Down/ I Been On”

Beyonce quietly dropped a bomb in the Bey Hive on Sunday when she released a new song called “Bow Down/I Been On”

Beyonce
Beyonce

Beyonce
Beyonce

The profanity filled two-part track has Beyonce declaring “I know when you were little girls/You dreamt of being in my world”

Beyonce

It continues, “I took some time to live my life/But don’t think I’m just his little wife/Don’t get it twisted, get it twisted/This my shit, bow down bitches”

Beyonce
Beyonce

The song then shifts into an opera-esque piece that has been used to promote her upcoming world tour.

In the second part, “I Been On”, she raps a chopped and screwed verse.

Beyonce
Beyonce

“I’m the number one chick, ain’t need no hype/The capital b means, I’m ‘bout that life”

Beyonce
Beyonce

She gets personal near the end, describing her Houston roots, stating “Frenchys/Boudain in the parking lot” referencing a popular chicken eatery and a distinct type of sausage. She even gives a shout out to Geto Boys’ Willie D. If you are wondering, this is her=>

Beyonce
Beyonce

The sound is completely different from what Beyoncé has tried before, but in this stage of her career she can afford to play around with her sound. It is unclear if these songs are going to be on her upcoming album or if they are just a promotional single, aimed at getting her fans interested in her upcoming work.

Many fans are divided regarding the new track, some claiming they hate the new songs, while others love it.  The message is different than her previous songs “Who run the world (girls) and “Independent Woman”. While before she sang about women empowerment, she now states bow down bitches.

In my opinion, dissecting the song even further would be unnecessary. This is meant as a promotional track. It has her fans talking. Mission Accomplished. Delving any further into the lyrics would be a waste of time. Take the song at face value. An overproduced track, with a strong message, meant to shake the Bey Hive in anticipation of her upcoming work.

What do you guys think? Hate it or Love it?

 

Leave a comment